HSSD Beta Clubs Qualify for National Convention

HSSD Beta Clubs Qualify for National Convention
Posted on 01/31/2019
This is the image for the news article titled HSSD Beta Clubs Qualify for National Convention

Arkansas Jr. and Sr. Beta clubs gathered for State Convention January 24 - 26, 2019. A group of 94 HSSD students in 4th - 8th grades competed as Jr. Beta Club members from OVPA, Park Magnet, Intermediate School, and Junior Academy at Arkansas Junior Beta Club Convention January 24-25. A group of 25 HSSD students in 9th-12th grades competed as Sr. Beta Club members from HSWCHS at Senior Beta Club Convention January 25-26. Both events were hosted at the Hot Springs Convention Center.  In all, 50 HSSD students qualified (42 from Jr. Beta Club and 8 from Sr. Beta Club) to compete at National Beta Convention in June, to be hosted in Oklahoma City. Huge thanks to Cheryl Long, Madeline Bull, and Melissa Bratton for the countless hours they spent helping our teams prepare. Congrats to HSSD Beta Clubs!

Competitions at each event are divided among individual and team competitions. Sponsors for each group graciously provide a full list below of individual and team awards for each HSSD school Beta Club:

Park Magnet:

Individual Competitions/Awards

1st Place 4th grade Social Studies- Gary Baldwin

1st Place 4th grade Math- James Nehus

1st Place 5th grade Language Arts- Sophie Hernandez

1st Place 5th grade Science- Nathan Harbut

2nd Place 5th grade Social Studies- Andrew Nehus

Team Competitions/Awards
3rd Place Elementary Engineering - Team Members: Colby Holder, Andrew Nehus, Collin Mason, Victoria Mitchell, and Sophie Hernandez

Oaklawn Visual and Performing Arts Magnet:

Individual Competitions/Awards

1st Place Speech- Anani Coleman

3rd Place Math- LaRon Samuel

2nd Place Creative Writing- Sierra Burnell

3rd Place Portfolio- Anani Coleman

Team Competitions/Awards

1st Place Living Literature Elementary- Scene from Mary Poppins - Team Members: Ryan Tedford, Paula Rivera and Ariadna Lopez

3rd Place Two Dimensional Design (Banner)- Team Members:  Addison Sanchez, Aniyah Miller, Mariah Sanders, Isabella Ibarra-Reyes

1st Place Service Learning Showcase - Team Members: Aerial Poole, Sierra Burnell, Ariadna Lopez, Anani Coleman, Paula Rivera

2nd Place Recyclable Art - OVPA Jr Beta Recycle Team

2nd Place Technology - Team Members:  Alex Hammock, Jada Smith

3rd Place Solo Duo Trio Performing Arts - Team Members: Anani Coleman, Mariah Sanders, Maya Nduku

3 Golden Tickets Awarded to be Premier Performers at National Convention - Including: Anani Coleman, Mariah Sanders, and Maya Nduku

Hot Springs Junior Academy and Hot Springs Intermediate School:

Individual Competitions/Awards

3rd Place 7th grade Math - West Kleinman

Team Competitions/Awards

3rd Place Living Literature Jr. Division: Book Scene from “Mrs. Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children” - Team Members Include: Sloane Nutt, Tahj Jordan, Baylee Lyles, Jaxson Simms, Alisiyah Johnson, Devon Wright, Ellie Fendley, Abrianna Garcia, Cadence Bishop, and Abigail Hedrick

Hot Springs World Class High School Sr. Beta Club leaves state with the Gold Key (Growth Opportunity for Leadership Development) for having over 10% growth in convention attendance and 4 individual competition awards.

1st Place - Division 1(9) - Spanish Academic Test - Alix Frazier

5th Place - Division 2 Visual Arts - Painting - Peyton Hamilton

5th Place - Division 1 Visual Arts - Mixed Media - Whitnei Long

5th Place - Division 1 Visual Arts - Painting - Araven Selman

The National Beta Club is the largest independent, non-profit, educational youth organization in America. And for more than 80 years, it has prepared today's students to be tomorrow's leaders. Learn more, here.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.